14 Ottobre 2010 21:45

Assegnato a Mort Walker lo Sparky Award 2010

Mort Walker in una foto di Gianfranco Goria - Angouleme 1998Official Press Release: The Cartoon Art Museum is proud to announce that Mort Walker, creator of Beetle Bailey and founder of the National Cartoon Museum, is the recipient of the 2010 Sparky Award, which was presented to him by CAM curator Andrew Farago during a spotlight panel at last weekend’s New York Comic-Con. The Sparky Award is named in honor of Charles "Sparky" Schulz, the creator of Peanuts. Schulz was nicknamed Mort Walker ad Angouleme"Sparky" after the horse Sparkplug featured in the comic strip Barney Google. The Cartoon Art Museum would not exist without benefactors like Sparky Schulz and his wife, Jeannie. The Sparky Award is presented on behalf of the Cartoon Art Museum Mort Walker alla New York Comic Con 2010 - photo by gluetree at Flickrand the Charles M. Schulz Museum and Research Library. The award celebrates the significant contributions of cartoon artists who embody the talent, innovation and humanity of Charles M. Schulz. Past recipients include Schulz himself, Sergio Aragones, Gus Arriola, Carl Barks, Gene Colan, Will Eisner, Creig Flessel, Phil Frank, Lou Grant, Chuck Jones, Ward Kimball, Gary Larson, John Lasseter, Stan Lee, Bill Melendez, Dale Messick, John Severin and Morrie Turner.