afNews 26 Gennaio 2022 16:31

Record di adesioni per la V. edizione dei Quirino Awards!


* Spain, Brazil, Colombia and Argentina lead the submissions.
* Nominees in each of the nine categories will be announced in mid-February
* The city of San Cristóbal de La Laguna, in Tenerife, will host the event for the second consecutive year.

A total of 258 works from 18 countries have applied for the fifth edition of the Quirino Awards, awards that recognize the best of Ibero-American animation of the last year and that will be given on May 14th in San Cristóbal de La Laguna, in the island of Tenerife. The submitted works aspire to be finalists in one of the nine categories in competition: Feature Film, Series, Short Film, School Short Film, Commissioned Film, Animation for Video Game, Sound Design and Original Music, Visual Development and Animation Design.

Open to animation works from the 23 countries of the Ibero-American region, the call received 13 feature films, 48 series, 110 short films, 30 school short films, 49 commissioned films and 8 video games that, together, sum up to 45 hours of animation. It stands out, compared to the previous edition, that the participation in the feature film and series format grew by 38% and 27% respectively.

Spain leads the list of countries with the highest representation with 28%, followed by Brazil (14%), Colombia (13%), Argentina (13%) and Mexico (10%). Works have also been received from Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, , Uruguay, Venezuela and, for the first time, from Guatemala and Honduras. Since its first call, the Quirino Awards have received a total of 1,259 applications.

From among all the registered works, the Selection Committee made up of Katarzyna Gromadzka, Barry O’Donoghue, Argentina Oliva, Sydney Padua, Loïc Portier and Paco Rodríguez will choose six per category that will be announced in mid-February. Subsequently, an international Jury will choose three finalists in each category. The jury will be made up by Sebastian Debertin (Director of International Content, Acquisitions and Co-productions at KiKA, Germany), Magdiela Hermida Duhamel (Founder and Co-director of the LatinX in Animation program, United States), Zofia Jaroszuk (Producer and Production Supervisor at Animoon, Poland), Kenneth Ladekjær (Animation Director of “Flee” and co-creator of Sun Creature Studio, Denmark) and Hernán La Greca (Creative Director and Content Developer, United States).

For the second consecutive year, the city of San Cristóbal de La Laguna will host the Quirino Awards, which will also host the 41st Ordinary Meeting of the Conference of Audiovisual and Cinematographic Authorities of Ibero-America (CAACI) and the 20th Extraordinary Meeting of the Intergovernmental Council of Ibermedia. Organized by the Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts (ICAA) of the Spanish Ministry of Culture and Sports, these institutional meetings will take place between May 11th and 13th.

Parallelly, the Quirino Awards will host the 5th Co-production and Business Forum, which in its last edition brought together more than 120 company representatives from 19 countries and organized more than 700 professional meetings. Likewise, the The Ibero-American Animation Quirino White Paper will present its latest edition during the event.

About the Quirino Awards
Created in 2018 by a group of professionals from Latin America and Spain, the Quirino Awards seek to value talent and the Ibero-American animation industry, in addition to promoting professional networks and contributing to the construction of an Ibero-American animation market.

The awards were named in honor of the creator of the first animated feature film in history, the Italian-Argentine Quirino Cristiani, who in 1917 directed “El Apóstol”. It is an Argentine production in which 58,000 drawings made by hand and shot in 35 mm were used.

Last edition the awards had the main sponsorship of the Tenerife Council through Turismo de Tenerife and the Tenerife Film Commission; the sponsorship of the Council of San Cristobal de La Laguna, ICEX Spain Exports and Investments, Canary Institute of Cultural Development, Canary Islands Film and PROEXCA, with cooperation from ICAA, the Ibermedia Program, RTVE, Tangram Solutions, HP, WELAW, Retina Latina, Filmin, Casa de America and Culturamania; and with the support of DIBOOS, SAVE, Pixelatl, Animation! Ventana Sur, Weird Market, La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana, La Mesta, Pantalla, the Canarias Audiovisual Cluster and Annecy Festival, as well as the associations APA (Association of Animation Producers of Cordoba, Argentina), Animar Cluster (Argentine Animation and VFX Cluster), ABCA (Brazilian Association of Animated Cinema), Animachi Chile, the Network of Bolivian Animators, GEMA Colombia (Animation Industry Trade Group), Animation Costa Rica, Guild of Animators from Ecuador, ACDMX (Mexican Association of Digital Creatives), Paraguay Animation, Perú Animation, and the Casa de Animação of Portugal.

Webiste: https: //

Questo articolo è stato inserito da:

Hai qualcosa di vero + buono + utile da aggiungere a questo riguardo? Hai domande? Scrivi qui. I commenti veri + buoni + utili verranno condivisi pubblicamente. Alle domande verrà data risposta, nei limiti del possibile.